Suga 2023 Concert Review: Setlist, BTS Songs, August D’D-Day Tour

scroll to see more pictures

“Once you come to a BTS concert, you can’t go anywhere else!” suga boldly joked BTS’ 2021 Festa Video. The same statement may be completely true for his own solo concerts. The BTS rapper and producer wowed audiences in their first two shows d-day World Tour on April 26 and 27, 2023 at the UBS Arena in Belmont Park, New York. He is the first member of the wildly successful K-pop group to embark on a solo tour after the group announced that they would pursue their own projects first. Going into the South Korean army. His performances spanned his entire career and were filled with poignant and emotional moments that are utterly unforgettable.

Suga was placed calmly in the middle of the elaborate stage, with a backdrop of scenes of harsh thunder and a storm raging by the dancers. The traditional chords of “Hygeum” led them to jump into an explosive set and there was no looking back. His hilarious rap song “Dachvita” reverberated with its thumping trap beats and the crowd sang back for him, confirming that he was indeed a king and a boss. The name of the next track, “August de”, wholeheartedly confirms this. As “Give It to Me” played, sections of the stage slowly rose and flames shot out from below – a notable entrance into the tour.

suga august d

Credits: Bigit Music

After a roaring first four songs, the star of the night introduced herself. “I’m Suga or August D or Yunky,” he said with a grin, referring to his stage name alter ego and real name. The three names separate unique parts of their musical paths, but the concert chronicles them all together under one roof. He stepped back and performed “Trivia 轉: Seesaw” on an acoustic guitar, accompanied by the other six members of BTS – one of the first to take the road from his main group and perform one of his favorite songs. small memento love yourself Era.

As more parts of the stage rose to the ceiling, Suga took the audience to several cozy nooks that had just been unveiled and performed the chill and relaxing track “SDL” in a lounge chair. He recalled two different eras of August de “People” d 2 Who Originally Converted to “People Pt.2 (feat. IU)” from her latest album D-day. their first full-length album was released five days before the start of the tour. Nevertheless, the crowd sang in a unified chorus for both songs, with the former asking “Why so serious?” and the latter graced by IU’s delicate vocals.


Credits: Bigit Music

This flows continuously to “Moonlight”, a song that journeys into the inner workings of her mind and songwriting exploration. “A lot’s changed in my life, but / That moonlight is still the same,” he reflected in the catchy hook. The intense moment is punctuated by “Burn It (ft. Max)”, where hell was inevitable and his raps and verses were quite literally, fire.

Although the concert was incredibly different from a typical BTS concert, Suga dedicated a portion of the concert to his raps within the group’s discography. “Hipline: Shadow” mimics the music video where he looks back on his life as an idol and the hidden darkness of fame. “The moment I’m flying as high as I want / My shadow rises in that raging light / Please don’t let me shine / Don’t let me down, don’t let me fly,” he sings, adding that he wants to “rap Star,” “Rock Star” and “King”. A medley of “BTS Cypher Pt. 3” and “BTS Cypher Pt. 4,” her rap-line mates J-Hope (who just joined forces) and RM, spilled endless vibes. This prompted “UGH!” and the highly coveted unreleased track “Dang.” Speed ​​warmed up to “Huh”? (feat. J-Hope)” which text in the background screen aggressively reads the song’s lyrics “What the shit, do you know about me?”

The energy calmed down when Suga stood near the mic stand, but not without loud barking from ARMY. His face was puzzled and amused at the same time. (He later asked the crowd, “Did someone coach you guys?”) He walked down the stairs to perform the song “Familiar and Unfamiliar” on a grand piano decorated with whiskey and water bottles. “Life Goes On,” originally a song from the BTS 2020 album Happen, 2023 reworked and orchestrated around Suga’s verse D-day. “Life goes on,” he repeated until ending with a beautiful suspended glissando outro.

Suga, Ryuichi Sakamoto

Credits: Bigit Music

It’s a really touching introduction to a clip from Suga’s documentary road to d day where he meets his musical hero, Ryuichi Sakamoto, who passed away a few weeks before the album’s release. The Japanese musical talent collaborated with Suga on “Snooze” and also features The Rose’s Woosung. When Yunqi performs the song live, Sakamoto plays chords on the piano and his passion for music and storytelling is clearly on display. Yunky honored his legacy with a simple phrase on a black screen, “I wish you peace on your long journey.”

Entering the more vulnerable tracks “Polar Night” and “Amygdala”, Suga’s stage rapidly unravels as he reveals his personal struggles on the road to fame. The ground floor was completely in flames as she sang, “What didn’t kill me made me stronger /And I start blooming like a lotus flower once again.


Credits: Bigit Music

As he walked into the first song of the encore, “D-Day”, his stage was completely gone and there were only a few platform props to make him visible beyond the crowd. He climbed a small elevated platform and waved to every corner of the arena in “Intro: Never Mind”, before being surveyed by dozens of cameras surrounding him in the final song, titled “The Last”. He gives it his all, singing the lyrics, “My pride that I thought I had given / Turned into self-respect / My fans, hold your heads high with pride / Cause who can do it like me He leapt into the air before the flare and immediately the house lights flashed, and he was confidently walking away from the mic and the crowd. And with those moves off the stage, he cemented his place as one of the best and most engaging K-pop producers and artists to date.

Suga/August D d-day tour setlist

  1. “Hageium”
  2. “Dechvita”
  3. “August D”
  4. “give it to me”
  5. “Trivia 轉: Seesaw”
  6. “sdl”
  7. “People” + “People Pt.2 (feat. IU)”
  8. “Moonlight”
  9. “burn it”
  10. “Interval: Shadow”
  11. “BTS Cypher PT.3: Killer + BTS Cypher 4” Medley
  12. “Ugh!” + “deng” + “huh?”
  13. “Life Goes On”
  14. “snooze”
  15. “Polar Night”
  16. “Amygdala”
  17. “D-Day”
  18. “Intro: Nevermind”
  19. “Last”

Tickets for Suga/August D d-day Tours are now available. Here’s to getting them.

At StyleCaster our mission is to bring style to the masses, and we only feature products that we think you’ll love as much as we do. Please note that if you buy something by clicking on a link in this story, we may receive a small commission from the sale.

Sign Up for the StyleCaster Shopping Newsletter