Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Jean Smart and Bob Balaban Urge “Yes Vote” on Strike Authorization Among SAG-AFTRA’s 18 Members – Deadline

A group of SAG-AFTRA members, including Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Jean Smart and Bob Balaban, have released a video urging their fellow artists to approve strike authorization that is currently up for a vote of eligible members of the guild. is outside.

The vote comes ahead of the Guild’s upcoming talks with the Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers, which are set to begin June 7. A strike, if it comes to that, cannot begin before June 30, when the guild’s current contract expires.

Meanwhile, the Directors Guild is currently in talks with AMPTP. His contract also ends on June 30 and the Writers Guild is on strike for 29 days.

“I’m asking you to join me in voting ‘yes’ on strike authorization,” Louis-Dreyfus says on the video.

A “yes” vote, Smart says, “simply means that we give the national board the power to strike if AMPTP doesn’t give our members the needed contract reform.”

Watch video here:

Key issues referenced in the video include increased compensation, residuals, self-taping, and restrictions on the use of artificial intelligence to replace actors. The deadline to vote is June 5 at 5 p.m. PT.

The other 16 actors who appear in the video are:

  • Paul W Downs
  • abbi jacobson
  • Sophia Bush
  • jean smart
  • Julia Louis-Dreyfus
  • john dimaggio
  • Aaron Jennings
  • Coral Pena
  • bob balaban
  • david diggs
  • Raphael Castle
  • Matt Bush
  • jodi balfour
  • Lucas Gage
  • Tom Pelphrey
  • Sam Richardson
  • Kumail Nanjiani
  • d’arcy warden